BSC names Larry D. Striplin Athletes of the Year at annual Athletic Awards Banquet

BSC names Larry D. Striplin Athletes of the Year at annual Athletic Awards Banquet
Senior Women's Administrator Ann Dielen (far left) and Athletic Director Joe Dean, Jr. (far right) with the 2013 Larry D. Striplin Athletes of the Year: Tiarra Goode, Robert Willett, and Taylor Bassett (photo by Jimmy Mitchell)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.–Birmingham-Southern held its annual Athletic Awards Banquet Monday evening in Bruno Great Hall and named the 2013 Newcomers, Athletes, Teams, and Man and Woman of the Year, as well as the Johnny Johnson Most Inspirational Senior Student Athletes.

Junior sprinter Tiarra Goode and sophomore softball player Taylor Bassett were named Co-Larry D. Striplin Female Athletes of the Year, while runner Robert Willett was named Larry D. Striplin Male Athlete of the Year.

Goode, who was also the Female Athlete of the Year in 2012, recently won three SAA individual titles at the 2013 Track & Field Championships, and has qualified for the upcoming national championship in La Crosse, Wis. Bassett was the 2013 SAA Softball Player of the Year after leading the nation in home runs and breaking the BSC career home runs record as a sophomore. Willett was also a three-time SAA champion two weekends ago at the SAA Championship and has qualified for the upcoming national meet.

Freshmen Sara Cohen of women's tennis and Hannah Busk of swimming and diving were Co-Female Newcomers of the Year, and swimmer Duncan Bonney was the Male Newcomer of the Year. Cohen was 11-1 in singles and 10-2 in doubles play this year, and was undefeated against SAA opponents. Busk was the SAA Swimmer of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, as was Bonney on the men's side.

The Johnny Johnson Most Inspirational Senior Student Athlete Awards went to Raeann Lamere of women's tennis and Andrew Huffman of men's lacrosse. The Johnny Johnson Award is named for the late Vice President for Business and Finance at Birmingham-Southern College, who died suddenly from a heart ailment in 2001. Johnson was an avid supporter of BSC athletics.

The BSC Man and Woman of the Year - new awards this year - were Shelby Moore of volleyball and track & field, and Blaise White of men's basketball. Moore was First-Team All-Conference in 2011 and 2012, and is also an All-Conference athlete in track & field. White was the 2012 and 2013 conference Defensive Player of the Year.

BSC also named its Teams of the Year, giving the award to football, women's soccer, and women's golf. Football and women's soccer were SAA regular season champions, while women's golf recently earned an at-large bid to the upcoming NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship.

BSC's Athlete of the Year awards were named in honor of late benefactor Larry D. Striplin, who passed away last year at the age of 82. He was a 1952 graduate of Birmingham-Southern and is a member of the BSC Sports Hall of Fame. Striplin served for many years on the Birmingham-Southern Board of Trustees and was Chairman of the Athletic Affairs Committee of the Board. The BSC baseball field, Striplin Field, is named in his honor, as well as the Larry D. Striplin, Jr. Physical Fitness and Recreation Center on the BSC campus.