Football All-Conference winners announced; 13 Panthers honored

Football All-Conference winners announced; 13 Panthers honored

ATLANTA, Ga.—After exclusive voting by the head coaches of the Southern Athletic Association, 14 Birmingham-Southern players have been named to the All-Conference Football teams, it was announced today.

Senior tailback Shawn Morris (Pensacola, Fla.), junior tailback Joseph Moultrie (Birmingham, Ala.), and senior offensive linemen Alex Miller (Chelsea, Ala.) and Drew Reece (Roswell, Ga.) all earned First-Team Offensive honors. First-Team Defensive honorees for BSC were senior safety Andrew Shannon (Trussville, Ala.), sophomore linebacker Austin Hansard (Cumming, Ga.), senior linebacker Nick Gordon (Franklin, Tenn.), and senior defensive lineman Cory Corcoran (Trussville, Ala.).

Senior quarterback Jimmy Stainback (Roswell, Ga.) and senior wide receiver Aaron Sherrill (Madison, Ala.) were named Second-Team Offense. Sophomore defensive back Ty Keenum (Decatur, Ala.) and senior defensive lineman Zack Lambert (Huntsville, Ala.) made the defensive Second Team.

Sophomore wide receiver Sam Vermilyea (Monroeville, Ala.) was named Honorable Mention.

The Panthers went 7-3 overall this past season with a 3-1 mark in the SAA, earning a share of the 2012 conference championship.

Morris led the league in rushing yards (1,026) this past season and was third with nine touchdowns, while Moultrie was second in the SAA with 12 touchdowns. Shannon ranked fifth in the conference with 70 tackles and tied for third with two interceptions. Hansard was 11th with 62 tackles, and Gordon was 16th with 52.

Stainback was third in the conference with 1,698 passing yards, and tied for second with 15 touchdown passes.