Erik Klein named SCAC Men's Lacrosse Newcomer-of-the-Year

Erik Klein
Erik Klein

SUWANEE, Ga.—In exclusive voting by the league's head men's lacrosse coaches, freshman Erik Klein has been voted SCAC Newcomer-of-the-Year.

Klein and senior David Litton were also named First-Team All-SCAC, while seniors Chris Clarke and Jacob McPherson and juniors Nicco DeRosa, Andrew Huffman, and Matt Ivie earned Second-Team honors.

Klein, a first-year attacker from Coquitlam, British Columbia, tallied 90 points on 62 goals and 28 assists. His 90 points led the team while his 28 goals also led the team. Klein also ranked among the SCAC leaders in goals per game (3.65 – 1st), assists per game (1.65 – 4th) and points per game (5.29 – 2nd) while also totaling 43 ground balls.

Klein received five of 10 votes in the Newcomer-of-the-Year voting. Centre's Peter Murphy received two votes. Colorado College's Connor Ervin, Sewanee's Hal Smith, and Southwestern's Ross Warkentin each picked up a vote.

Zack Connors of Centre College was selected the 2012 SCAC Offensive Player-of-the-Year, while Colorado College's Zach Pierce was tabbed as SCAC Defensive Player-of-the-Year. Centre head coach Bert Severns was named the SCAC Coach-of-the-Year.