Panthers Sweep SAA Swimming & Diving Championship Crowns

Panthers Sweep SAA Swimming & Diving Championship Crowns

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Birmingham-Southern men's and women's swimming and diving teams defended their Southern Athletic Association Championship titles on Saturday night, capturing the conference crowns yet again.

With the win, the men's team secured its fourth-consecutive conference title, totaling 1,070 points while the women earned their second straight championship with 909 points.

On the fourth and final day, the Panthers won five championship finals to cap their impressive championship weekend.

Nico Medina (Hollywood, Fla./American Heritage HS) picked up BSC's first win of the day in the 1650-yard freestyle with a mark of 16:00.03, earning an NCAA B-cut and setting a new SAA and BSC record.

Patrick Dunne (Mobile, Ala./McGill-Toolen HS) found the top of the podium next after winning the men's 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:47.93, setting a new SAA record and breaking his own program record. Dunne and Noah Young (Clinton, Miss./Clinton HS) both earned a B-cut in the event.

Sophomore Becca Erwin (Duluth, Ga./Duluth HS) also made it back atop the medal stand with a first-place finish in the 100-yard freestyle. She won the race with a time of 50.43, breaking her own conference and school records.

Birmingham-Southern ended the championships with wins in the men's and women's 400-yard freestyle relays. The men finished the relay with a time of 3:04.35 and the women set a new relay SAA and school record with a time of 3:29.66, good enough to beat the B-cut standard.

The annual SAA Swimming and Diving superlatives were also announced at the conclusion of the meet. Birmingham-Southern won four of the yearly honors:

Men's Swimmer of the Year: Nico Medina

Women's Swimmer of the Year: Becca Erwin

Men's Newcomer of the Year: Patrick Dunne

Men's Coach of the Year: Toby Wilcox


2018 SAA Swimming & Diving Champions

Women's 800-yard Freestyle Relay: Becca Erwin, Mary Beth Ronne, Rachel Sullivan, Savannah Barber – 7:36.96

Men's 800-yard Freestyle Relay: Patrick Dunne, Ryan Emili, Wil Barton, Nico Medina – 6:43.87

Men's 200-yard Freestyle Relay: Patrick Dunne, Luke Huffstutler, Ryan Emili, Noah Young – 1:24.16

Women's 500-yard Freestyle: Becca Erwin – 4:54.67

Men's 500-yard Freestyle: Nico Medina – 4:39.40

Men's 200-yard IM: Noah Young – 1:49.54

Men's 400-yard Medley Relay: Noah Young, Caleb Riggs, Will Retersdorf, Ryan Emili – 3:25.61

Men's 400-yard IM: Patrick Dunne – 3:56.76

Men's 200-yard Freestyle: Nico Medina – 1:41.04

Women's 100-yard Breaststroke: Becca Erwin – 1:02.27

Men's 100-yard Backstroke: Noah Young – 50.74

Women's 200-yard Medley Relay: Kasey Godwin, Becca Erwin, Chelsea Chamblee, Savannah Barber – 1:47.60

Men's 200-yard Medley Relay: Patrick Dunne, Caleb Riggs, Luke Huffstutler, Noah Young – 1:32.73

Men's 1650-yard Freestyle: Nico Medina – 16:00.03

Men's 200-yard Backstroke: Patrick Dunne – 1:47.93

Women's 100-yard Freestyle: Becca Erwin – 50.43

Women's 400-yard Freestyle Relay: Savannah Barber, Chelsea Chamblee, Mary Beth Ronne, Becca Erwin – 3:29.66

Men's 400-yard Freestyle Relay: Patrick Dunne, Ryan Emili, Will Retersdorf, Noah Young – 3:04.35